Southern Cross: A Novel of the South Seas. Laurence Hyde.
Southern Cross: A Novel of the South Seas
Southern Cross: A Novel of the South Seas
Southern Cross: A Novel of the South Seas

Southern Cross: A Novel of the South Seas

Los Angeles: Ward Ritchie Press, 1951. First edition. Hardcover. 255pp. Duodecimo [18 cm] in quarter red cloth over black boards with gilt spine title red cover device. Near fine. Item #59552

Introduction by Rockwell Kent. A work by the English-born Canadian film maker, painter, and graphic artist, and a wordless novel in the tradition of Frans Masereel and Lynd Ward that tells the story of an island in the South Pacific (clearly Bikini Atoll although the author states otherwise in the introduction) and the idyllic and simple lives of the native inhabitants whose lives change dramatically with the arrival of a [U.S.] military presence and atomic testing. One of the most dramatic and chilling wordless novels ever produced.

Price: $150.00

See all items in Wordless Novels
See all items by